When you are injured on the job in Portland, Oregon, you need skilled legal counsel to fight for the workers’ comp benefits you deserve. Our Portland workers’ compensation lawyers at Tillmann Law Personal Injury Lawyers can fight for you at every step of the process. Call us at (503) 272-8986 for a free consultation.
We are passionate about helping people injured at work get the compensation they need during their recovery. Our lawyers can diligently seek compensation that makes you whole again, including any workers’ comp claims and third-party personal injury lawsuits, if applicable.
Contact our top-rated Portland workers’ compensation lawyers. You do not have to fight the battle with the insurance company or your employer alone.
Workers’ compensation is a no-fault insurance system for injured employees in Oregon. The system is designed to prove benefits to workers while they recover from an injury they sustained while performing their job.
However, receiving workers’ comp benefits might be challenging. The insurance company and your employer have unlimited resources to fight your claim. You need to match their power to protect your rights.
Attorney Aaron Tillmann has nearly two decades of experience in insurance and injury law. Our Portland personal injury law firm has recovered millions of dollars for our clients.
During his legal practice, numerous legal organizations have recognized Attorney Tillmann, including being named an Oregon Super Lawyer by SuperLawyers Magazine and receiving the Client Champion Award from Martindale-Hubbell. He has also been included in the Top 100 Trial Lawyers list by The National Trial Lawyers.
When you hire our award-winning workers’ comp lawyer, you can expect us to:
Were you injured at work? If so, we want to help. Call Tillmann Law Personal Injury Lawyers today to schedule a free case evaluation with a workers’ compensation attorney in Portland, OR.
If you are injured at work, report the injury to your employer immediately. You can file a workers’ comp claim through your employer by filing a Report of Job Injury or Illness. You can also file a Worker’s and Health Care Provider’s Report for Workers’ Compensation Claims from your doctor.
Seek immediate medical attention for your injuries. Your employer or workers’ comp carrier cannot tell you what doctor to see, even if you are enrolled in a managed care organization (MCO). Make sure you tell your doctor that your injury occurred while you were working.
The workers’ compensation insurance company has 60 days to investigate your claim. You must cooperate during the investigation. It can be helpful to have legal representation because you might be required to provide a recorded statement, answer written questions, and submit to an individual medical examination.
If the company denies your claim, you have 60 days to file an appeal and ask for a hearing. We strongly encourage you to call our office immediately to discuss your case with our Portland workers’ compensation lawyer if your claim is denied. Appeals can be confusing and difficult to win without legal representation.
Injured workers can receive several types of workers’ comp benefits under Oregon’s Workers’ Compensation Laws. The benefits you receive depend on the facts of your case. However, most injured workers are entitled to receive the following:
Medical benefits pay for the cost of emergency care and ongoing medical treatments after a work-related injury. The benefits should cover all reasonable and necessary medical treatment related to the work injury.
Time-loss benefits compensate you for a portion of your lost income if you cannot work after a workplace accident. Depending on the severity of your injury, you might receive Temporary Total Disability (TTD) or Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) benefits. The benefits for lost wages continue until your doctor deems you fit to return to work, usually when you reach maximum medical improvement.
Time-loss benefits do not compensate you for all lost wages. You receive 66.67 percent of your average weekly wages if you cannot work during your recovery. Weekly time loss benefits are subject to a maximum amount.
If you were working a second job when you were injured at work, you might receive additional benefits for the lost wages from your second job. You must notify the workers’ comp insurer of the second job within 30 days of your initial claim. In addition, you must provide proof of wages for your second job to the insurer within 60 days of its request, or you are ineligible for supplemental disability benefits.
If you cannot return to the same job you had before your injury, you might be entitled to vocational benefits. The benefits provide retraining for another job. The specific benefits depend on the circumstances and the specific criteria for each type of vocational training available.
If you sustain impairments or disabilities because of a work injury, you could be entitled to permanent disability benefits. The benefits you receive depend on your impairment rating and other factors.
You could receive workers’ compensation death benefits if your family member dies because of an on-the-job injury. Benefits include the reasonable cost of the funeral and burial. It might also include monthly payments to the worker’s surviving spouse, children, and other dependents.
Typically, you cannot sue your employer for a work injury if you are covered by workers’ compensation. However, you might have a personal injury claim against a third party.
Third parties can include contractors, property owners, motorists, manufacturers, and others. Examples of third-party workplace accident claims include, but are not limited to:
Our Portland workers’ compensation lawyer can thoroughly investigate your case to determine all causes of action. We’ll then work to recover all compensation available for your workplace accident.
The damages you can receive for a third-party personal injury claim for a workplace accident are much more expansive than workers’ comp benefits. You could be entitled to a much larger settlement if your work injury was caused by the negligence or intentional torts of a third party.
The compensation you could receive for a third-party claim depends on the facts of your case. However, most victims can receive compensation for their economic damages, including:
Additionally, you could receive compensation for your non-economic damages. Workers’ comp does not pay any benefits for pain and suffering damages. However, a third-party claim could compensate you for the following:
The amount of your third-party claim depends on several factors, including the severity of your injuries and whether you can prove fault. Unlike a workers’ comp claim, you have the burden of proving the third party caused your injuries before you can receive compensation for damages.
We understand that you could be out of work and struggling to make ends meet after being hurt at work. Therefore, you might assume you cannot afford to hire a workers’ compensation attorney to handle your case. However, you can hire our Portland workers’ comp lawyer without paying upfront fees.
The Oregon Workers’ Compensation Board regulates attorney’s fees in workers’ comp cases. Attorney’s fees might be paid as a percentage of the amount the attorney recovers for you. A workers’ comp insurance company might be ordered to pay your attorney’s fees in some cases.
In either case, you do not pay attorney’s fees out of your pocket. Your attorney must be instrumental in recovering benefits or compensation to receive payment for legal fees.
Hiring a knowledgeable Portland workers’ comp lawyer helps you secure the benefits and compensation you deserve after a workplace accident. Sound legal advice and representation gives you the best chance of receiving a positive outcome in your case.
Our attorneys are dedicated, compassionate, and highly skilled at Tillmann Law Personal Injury Lawyers. Reach out to our Portland workers’ compensation attorney today for a free case review.
Our personal injury law firm in Portland, OR also provides: