When you have been involved in an Oregon car accident, it is normal to have many questions. Finding the right information regarding car accident reports in Oregon can be difficult.
There are many questions about Oregon accident reports that crash victims frequently ask. Some of the most commonly asked questions about collision reports in the Beaver State include:
In many cases, the answer is “yes.” While some minor collisions do not need to be reported, more severe crashes do.
In Oregon, you are legally required to file a record of your accident with the state DMV if it meets any of the following criteria:
If no injuries or deaths result from the crash, you may not have to file an accident report. This is especially true if no significant property damage happens.
For accidents or collisions that meet the specified requirements, you must file a report within 72 hours of the incident. These reports should be filed with the Oregon DMV.
These documents are known as “Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Reports.” For help filing one of the critical reports, reach out to a car accident lawyer. This is an important step if you hope to file a successful tort claim.
DMV accident reports serve as a neutral third-person representation of the details of a collision. These documents contain many important pieces of information that can help in the case of a resulting legal claim.
Some of the information on an Oregon car crash report includes:
If you are unsure about how to proceed, make sure to contact a knowledgeable Oregon attorney about filing a report. When you have filed an accident report, you will have a better chance of recovering the financial damages to which you are entitled.
No. In the state of Oregon, police reports do not count as filing a report through the state DMV. If you have experienced a crash that resulted in deaths, injuries, or qualifying property damage, you must contact the DMV.
While police accident reports do not make DMV reports irrelevant, they are still important. It is crucial to call local law enforcement before leaving the scene of your collision. A police accident report will serve as compelling evidence if you choose to pursue a tort claim for compensation.
Yes, a lawyer can help you file an Oregon DMV accident report. A knowledgeable professional can assist you in collecting the necessary information and ensuring the report is filled out correctly.
You are required by law to report the accident to the DMV within 72 hours of the incident. For this reason, you should contact a lawyer as soon as possible after your crash. They can advise you about your legal rights and options after a collision.
If you were injured in an accident in Portland, OR, please contact our Portland car accident lawyers at Tillmann Law Personal Injury Lawyers to schedule a free consultation today.
Tillmann Law Personal Injury Lawyers
101 SW Main St. #1905
Portland, OR, 97204