After a Portland bicycle accident, filing a report with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is likely the last item on your mind. These collisions can result in painful injuries and extensive property damage, and as an injured cyclist, your immediate safety is top priority.
Under Oregon law, however, you must file a report with the DMV after most types of bicycle collisions. Failure to comply with bicycle accident reporting requirements could result in penalties like license suspension.
According to the Oregon DMV, you must file an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report if you are involved in an accident that results in any of the following:
All parties involved in the collision must file a report with the DMV within 72 hours of the accident. To submit your report, you can download the required form online or pick one up at a police department or sheriff’s office. You can recover compensation for both economic and non-economic consequences of a bicycle accident.
Fill out the form and submit it via email or regular mail to the DMV Crash Reporting Unit. Before submitting your report, make a copy and save it for your records. If you do not submit an accident report within 72 hours of the crash, the DMV will issue a license suspension.
A police report does not replace an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report. As a cyclist, you are not required to file a report with the police. If your accident meets the criteria for a DMV report, the driver involved in your case will need to file a report to the police.
Regardless of your responsibilities, you should still file a police report following a bicycle accident. When an officer responds to an accident scene, he or she will interview all people at the scene and determine how the collision likely occurred. You can use this document as valuable evidence to support your future lawsuit or insurance claim.
If you are injured in a Portland bicycle accident, it is important to seek help as soon as possible. Call 911 and report the accident to law enforcement. Go to the hospital and receive treatment for your injuries. If you are able, take photographs, collect contact information from witnesses, and briefly exchange details with the driver. Finally, make sure to submit a report to the DMV within 72 hours of the collision.
After receiving medical care, contact a Portland bicycle accident lawyer. Navigating a bicycle accident claim can be challenging, especially if you have a serious injury. An attorney can represent your claim and advocate aggressively for your maximum settlement, helping you pay for the injuries that you sustained.
Speak to a bicycle accident lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your claim and legal options. At your consultation, your attorney will evaluate your accident and take your first steps toward filing a Portland personal injury lawsuit or insurance claim. Check out our Portland bicycle accident FAQ page for more information.